About LIM College

Three LIM College Students Win YMA FSF Scholarships


Courtney Vander Linden one of only eight Geoffrey Beene National Scholarship Finalists nationwide

YMA FSF logoLIM College student Courtney Vander Linden received a $10,000 scholarship award and Mikael Priestley and Rebekah Austin each received $5,000 scholarships at the YMA FSF Geoffrey Beene National Scholarship Awards Dinner on January 8 at the Waldorf Astoria.

LIM College is one of a select group of educational institutions throughout the nation chosen to participate in the YMA Fashion Scholarship Fund competition. Other participating schools include Barnard College, the University of Pennsylvania, Cornell University, and Harvard University. Scholarships are awarded based entirely on merit, taking into consideration the applicants' GPAs, the completion of a case study project, a personal essay detailing their aspirations, work experience, community service, and an interview with a YMA FSF Ambassador.

In addition to the scholarship funds, Courtney, Mikael and Rebekah will all receive internship placements at top fashion companies, where they will be matched with an executive mentor who will guide and assist them in networking with industry contacts.

The YMA Fashion Scholarship Fund (FSF) is a national non-profit association consisting of influential members of the fashion community, dedicated to promoting education of the fashion arts and business by granting scholarships to talented students and facilitating internships, mentorships and career programs. FSF’s goal is to advance the fashion industry by encouraging gifted and enterprising young people to pursue careers in design, merchandising, retailing and business, so the industry will continue to attract dedicated, capable and creative individuals.

The 2014 YMA FSF Geoffrey Beene National Scholarship Awards Dinner was hosted by Linda Fargo, Senior Vice President of Bergdorf Goodman. George Feldenkreis, Chairman and CEO of Perry Ellis International, and Lara Crain Krauter, the recently retired Senior Vice President of Sears Holdings and President of Sears Apparel, were also both honored during the evening.


↑Back to Top